27 Comments

  1. Mia M.

    For the lava lamp, we would change the amount of food coloring to 12. We would measure how long the food coloring bubbles.

    • Deidre Austen

      Wouldn’t you measure the vinegar BEFORE you put it in the bottle?

      You would need to find something to measure about the results of the investigation – amount of time the bubbles last, size of bubbles, amount of gas released by the lamp. etc.

      Mrs. Austen

  2. Lila S.

    How warm should the water be? What color should the food coloring be? How much dish soap should we put in? We could change the type of dish soap and measure the temperature of the reactions. I like how the scientist told why the reaction did what it did.

    • Deidre Austen

      Good idea to use only metric units!

      What could you change about the actual investigation (materials, temperatures, amounts) that might affect the size of the bubbles?

    • Deidre Austen

      I agree that there should be specific amounts listed for the liquid soap. The best metric unit to use to measure liquids would be milliliters (mL).

      Great scientific thinking!

    • Deidre Austen

      This is a great science question, Gretchen. It shows that you know that we need to be very specific when sharing a scientific procedure.

      I did some searching and found another example of elephant toothpaste at this site: http://www.sciencebob.com/experiments/elephants_toothpaste.php

      Three important tips:
      – An adult should help with this experiment (the directions even say this).
      – Be sure to wear safety goggles. I have some in the iLab that you can borrow.
      – The measurements in this set of directions are in customary units. You would need to covert these to metric units for a STEM investigation.

      If you try this at home, be sure to send me some pictures!

      🙂 Mrs. Austen

        • Deidre Austen

          Hi, Gretchen,

          What units would you need to convert? I find the easiest way to make my measurements clear is to simply measure out the amount of tablespoons (for example) that I need, and pour that amount of ingredients into a graduated cylinder that shows mL. I would then know how many mL are equal to the tablespoons that I need. You can do this with water before you even begin the investigation just to be sure you know how many mL you will need for each ingredient.

          Does that make sense?

  3. Gretchen S.

    Hi Ms.Austen,
    Ms. Kellner approved my STEM fair topic. I am doing elephant toothpaste. I will be changing the type of yeast. I will be using dry, fresh, instant, brewers, and no yeast. I will be measuring the amount of toothpaste made in mL.

    • Deidre Austen

      I can’t wait to see your results, Gretchen! I have always wanted to try this investigation with students, so I am very interested in what you learn. You will be able to tell me exactly what “recipe” I should use.

      Please send me some photos of your elephant toothpaste investigation so we can share them on the blog as well.

      🙂 Mrs. Austen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *